Menu
Home page Insurance Online! About us Contact Privacy Policy FAQ Terms of use How it works Responsible Lending Marketing Practices

VSP Vision Care Online Insurance Reviews

Company Name: VSP Vision Care
Website: www.vsp.com
1.7 
Overall average rating of 1.7 out of 5, and the percentage of positive recommendations 15 %
I had VSP for 1 year, and when it came time to renew, the card I had on file would not work. I got emails from them explaining this, so I went on their (awful) website and updated my payment info. But there's NO OPTION to actually submit a payment. That's just idiotic. So I waited a week hoping I'd see a charge for my current year's insurance. Nothing.I call and speak to someone, he tells me I'm all up to date, this current year, not last year. Nothing more to do. Great! I set an eye exam for 2 weeks later. 2 weeks goes by and the doctor calls to tell me my insurance isn't going through. Well that's odd. I call VSP and speak to a billing representative, explaining the situation. Her answer: "There's no record of you calling us about this before, so you must've called the wrong number". I was dumbfounded. So I said, "You mean to tell me that I called the wrong number and some random person helped me with my customer service complaint and told me my insurance was up to date?" She said yes. I was absolutely floored.The end result is that all I could do was renew my insurance with them for the full amount and it would take 5 days to go into effect. I will never do business with such an idiotic company again; I was perfectly willing to pay, they made it impossible online, then told me on the phone I was all set, then told me I was an idiot for calling a wrong number and speaking to a stranger who helped me with my VSP plan, then insisted that the only way to fix all this was to pay full price even though my appointment had to be canceled and my time had been wasted on 3 separate occasions. Never again.
Rebate for Crizal and Varilux lenses: The rebate is a complete scam! In the fine print of the 10 paragraphs on the back of the rebate form it says it must be postmarked within 45 days of purchase, even if it is submitted before the deadline date. Very dissatisfied with VSP.
I had an eye exam and ordered my glasses on January 23, 2015. I was told at the beginning it would take 2 weeks - possibly a little longer as they had been running a little behind. Now it has been ONE MONTH and I'm being told IF they pass inspection, they will be shipped late next week. They were ready about 10 days ago but I was told by my doctor that they were broken before they could be shipped. I have written two emails and received an apology/explanation both times. That does me no good... I need my glasses! I was later told by VSP that my glasses were not broken but didn't pass inspection because the coating was not right. You would think that if VSP wants to keep customers, they would put a rush on any glasses that were not good the first time, but it appears that I went to the back of the line again. I feel like I was stupid and have been ripped off. NEVER again!
Considering that a member pays either $4 to $6 for an individual membership and up to $8 for a family membership, how great is that vision plan anyway? You get hardware benefits (contacts or glasses) every two years and you have already paid anywhere from $416 up to $832. Then you still have a copay. If you put the same amount in a health savings account, you save on taxes and don't have to pay an administration fee, you would be much further ahead by skipping the VSP. Are they a non profit or did they lose that status with the IRS? I did not hear that VSP had regained their non profit status... has anybody?
I recently went to an affiliated network provider for VSP, the provider verified my insurance but had trouble understanding the coverage amounts. After about 45 minutes and three employees struggling over the telephone and online I said I would pay the bill and turn it in for reimbursement. Don't do it! My reimbursement was a total of $159.98 for a $900.00 bill with progressive lenses.I have extra coverage and a copay for the progressive lenses that were a total cost of $650.00 they reimburse me $50.00. They only reimburse half of my frame coverage amount. I have not cashed the reimbursement check. I have called VSP and was told that their policy is to not give me full in-network reimbursement if I pay out of pocket. Their policy is to give me the lowest reimbursement possible. I was offered an extra $32.00. I did not want to pay out of pocket. Their employees are unable to determine what my coverage amount was. Days later I still have not cashed my check and I will not cash my check until I receive payment for my benefits as stated in my paperwork. I may end up in small claims court.The employee that was answered the phone when I first made contact was unable to help and went to her Supervisor twice and came back and told me that he handed her a policy book and told her to read it. She read to me out of the policy book and said I should contact my provider and try to get money from them. Or I would hear from VSP in 3 days. What a joke!The portion that our household pays not including what the company pays is more than what is covered by VSP. The CEO Jim MCGRANN states on their webpage that the consumer "should - and will - always win." His words are hollow. I have not won. Maybe he should read their policy book. I would not recommend them to anyone. Tell your family, tell your friends, and most important remember this when you go to open enrollment for your company.
VSP is abominable; it's cheaper to just pay out of pocket for exams and glasses than pay their premium, because they will refuse to pay the provider when you go to use your insurance. I went to a provider for an exam for glasses and also for contacts -- I had used contacts for years but developed issues with them so had been wearing glasses for about 4 years when a friend suggested a new optician for contacts. So I tried the new provider, to see if HE could find a way to fit me again for contacts. He tried very hard but nothing worked, so I decided to stay with glasses. Here's where the VSP nightmare began: they told my provider I was now OBLIGATED TO GET CONTACT LENSES EVEN THOUGH WE HAD DECIDED THEY WOULD NOT WORK! VSP refused to unlock my account to allow me to get glasses and have VSP pay the part of the cost they state they will pay. By now I had gone to my old optician to get glasses. My old provider is working with me now to fix VSP's hostage-taking of my account. Meantime I've been forced to pay back the provider for my full exam -- in other words, VSP is refusing to pay for my exam, even though their coverage states it covers exams. I have paid out of pocket for the full exam cost, hoping they will unlock my account and now pay for glasses. BEWARE VSP. They are evil.
I hear a bunch of people complaining about their year-long commitment and although it sounds unfair, it kind of makes sense. People are thinking this is like health care and it's not, they might not agree with it but you do have to be locked in for a year. It probably says it in the contract anyway. Being forced to auto-renew on the other hand, is pretty unreasonable though. Just my two cents. I'm writing about a totally different experience. My year was up in January. I emailed them a month before asking to cancel. They said, "You gotta email us later." I said okay... I emailed them later. They said, "You are canceled." For the next MONTH OR TWO I am getting emails from them saying: 1) My payment is coming up and 2) My card is declined because they were charging an old card of mine. Thinking that I owed one more payment, I sent them a pre-validated check for $24 from Chase Bill Pay. Meaning the money is out of my account and it can't get back. Two weeks later they mail the check back to me. I call them and ask them why they did that? Turns out I never owed them money, they never took the reminders off and kept trying to ask me for money.Well what about this check? I said... "I can't get it back from my bank... If I stop payment on it, it costs me $25. Can I send it to you and you can send me a check back?" (CS - "No... we can't do that..."). Well what am I suppose to do? "WELL YOU SHOULD HAVE CALLED US ABOUT IT." Basically it's MY FAULT that I sent money to a Vision insurance company because I was told that I owe them... and that I didn't check them for their mistakes. Luckily it's only $24 but that is not how you try to solve a problem. Blaming someone because your own billing practices forced them to send you a check...
What does copay mean to these folks? To me, a $25 materials copay means I pay $25. Not so. Plan to pay much more than this for your eyeglasses, no matter where you go, or how much you downgrade to save money. Not worth it. I can order glasses online through EyeBuyDirect much cheaper and without insurance.
I only paid $70 for the eyeglasses. VSP covered for the rest of the cost.
I printed out a copy from VSP that says my daughter qualified for all benefits except glasses and scheduled her appt. The eye doctor ran the same screening and was also approved until we ordered the contacts in which case they told us she would not get more contacts until October. I do not want my daughter wearing her contacts for an extended amount of time however VSP seems to believe that she only needs 6 months of contacts per year. We pay our insurance so we don't have this out of pocket expense. She has been wearing contacts for 2 years and we have had the same exact insurance and this is the first time we have been forced to come up with the entire $124 for the contacts.
I went to out of network provider because glasses broke. Was told to call for out of network waiver. Got approved. Sent in for reimbursement. Got sent a check but it was for out of network. Got reimbursed for 170 out of 590.
Don't get fooled. Opt for other insurance. This insurance provider is just sucker for money. I had order frames and prescription lenses out of network. They didn't reimburse me for prescription lenses. The out of network limit is very less and in network you would not find good frames or lenses.
I've had VSP since the Federal government first offered it to Federal employees, and it's always been great. Yes, there's a dollar limit on what it will pay for services, but that's true of any insurance. I've been extremely nearsighted but old enough for bifocals or trifocals, so my glasses ran around $850. Thanks to VSP, I have been able to keep my out-of-pocket expense to around $250. I've never had problems with verifying benefits, either. When I make the appointment for my eye exam, I tell the provider that I have VSP insurance. They call in advance, get the information on what my coverage will pay, and they're ready and able to help me select new frames and lenses.I recently had cataracts removed from both eyes, and corrective lenses were implanted. Now, my vision is much better, but I still need some help with far distance and reading (My computer vision is perfect, though!). My eyes are good enough now that I no longer need high-index plastic lenses, so I'll be able to get the polycarbonate lenses that VSP pays completely. I don't know if the reviewers who hate VSP have the high or low option. I have the high option, which covers Transitions lenses, anti-scratch coating, and anti-reflective coating. One optometrist told me that I had the "Cadillac of vision insurance," and I believe it. Perhaps VSP packages for the private sector are not as generous; I wouldn't know. For Federal employees, though, it's excellent.
Our clinic regularly needs to call VSP to speak with customer services. Sometimes a patient's plan doesn't have clear information listed on the website, sometimes there's an issue with a claim. No matter what the issue is, the automated system hangs up on us whenever we try to reach a representative. This means poor patient service on our part because we're unable to verify what's happening. It also means poor customer service from VSP because patients are required to contact VSP directly and often do not have the exact lingo to fix whatever the issue is. It's incredibly frustrating that the company has adopted this new structure.
I had my eyes examined by eye dr. on Tues. 4/7/15. The prescription was sent in to the lab to be filled and it is now 4/24/15 and I still have not received my glasses nor even an explanation from the lab for the delay.
I called VSP to inquire about my benefits that I haven't used yet to see how long I have left to use. I also told the person I spoke to that my husband's company now offers VSP through group plan and I wished to cancel before the next 12 mo term started. Ok, I've got until the end of the month to use my benefits and cancellation is handled. No problem, I thought until the next payment hit my checking account. I have now gotten several different stories from VSP. They can't do anything about refunding my money for two weeks, unless I can give them the name of the person I spoke with. So they can, but won't. I am currently out of work and my husband only gets paid one a month, so that $55 I was going to have to make it until Friday (today is Tuesday) has been sucked away and I can't do anything about it. Apparently, the first thing their customer service people are taught is to say they don't have any record of the cancellation. Makes me think they make a lot of money that way. Sad sad sad.
I am a relatively new member to VSP. Immediately after enrollment, I received a "welcome" email along with various documents and benefits information specific to the plan I purchased. I reviewed the information sent by email and found it to be correct, then as instructed, visited VSP.com to set up my online account. Once online, I clicked on the link to see my benefits information. I was shocked to realize that my online account was showing a completely different plan than the one I signed up for, which was the "Easy Options" plan. The plan that was attached to my account was not only incorrect but had greatly reduced benefits to my plan! I immediately called customer service, and an agent confirmed that my account was not showing the correct plan. She transferred me to Angel ** in the billing department, and he confirmed that I should have the "Easy Options" plan, and that was in fact what I was PAYING for. After over an hour of conversation, hold time and him communicating with his supervisor, Michelle, he informed me that they have never experienced a problem like mine and they did not know exactly how it happened or how to fix it! What??? He went on to say that the billing department has the correct information, but the eligibility department does not - and somehow they will need to get "operations" involved and hopefully can get it fixed. But really did not sound hopeful at all, nor did he instill any confidence in me that my problem will be resolved. In fact, there was no plan set forth for a resolution other than he suggested I call back in a week or so to see if they were able to fix it. UNACCEPTABLE! How can this company get away with selling (and charging for) a "premium" plan but delivering a "budget, bare-bones, limited benefits" plan? At this moment, my only impression of VSP is one of a very disorganized and unprofessional company!
I had VSP Vision insurance before and was very satisfied. I got a job and cancelled them because insurance was offered to me cheaper through my job. I got laid off and needed my Vision insurance due to the fact I am blind as a bat. I decided to pick VSP back up because 4 years ago I was happy with them. So in February (2016) I called and of course the only payment opinions they have are the automatic payment coming from your account, which is something I don't like at all. I went ahead and continued on (my mistake) to get coverage. I used it a month after I got it. The plan I picked, now mind you I asked customer service about this because it didn't sound right, was suppose to cover glasses and contacts. That was why it was $21.00 a month. Got to the doctor, talked to the finance department to be told that the insurance only covered glasses or contact, that someone told me wrong. Ok, now at this point I am irritated.Then she took me to the frames VSP gives discounts on and told me they only cover $150 on frames on other glasses, which the cheapest pair was $249.99 or $190 on this brand or this brand. I believe it is called their "featured" brand. So I looked and looked and finally found a pair of "flexon" frames that looked and fit good enough to pass for me. When I was ready to check out, my jaw hit the floor when she told me my total. With the insurance, I was told it was a $15 copay for exam and $30 copay on lenses. WRONG... My $45 copays turned into a total bill of $198.00 of things that the insurance didn't or wouldn't cover. Ok, after I picked up my jaw and fussed with women for a minute or two, I decided I wasn't getting anywhere and just pay it and never come back. I told myself then, it may not have been just the insurance, it was the place too.But as these couple of months pass the insurance never takes out the money on my account at the same time, so I never know when to look forward when to count it out on my account. I'm not rich, so I kind of have to live from paycheck to paycheck and in this case off of money that my husband gives me. With me losing my job, I figured this could be one way to cut corners. I didn't know if they would cancel my account and if not at least help with swooping another plan. Nope!!! I called and they told me there was nothing they could do that I had a year to go on my plan and they couldn't change it. Ok, so we all know that I can't use it again and I have already paid half of my visit when I did use it, so why can't you change it. You will make your money back anyways. She offered no way of help, was short, and not to mention the insurance is crappy from the beginning.So the only solution to getting away from them, is to cancel my account. Well, I guess you gotta do what'cha gotta do!!! I am not the type to get free rides or rip people off. If anything I rip myself off. I was trying to get a lower plan especially being they didn't cover anything like they said they did. I personally will not get this insurance again, plus trying to find a VSP provider is like pulling teeth from a bear. Not going to happen to easy and I live beside a fairly large town. I hope this review helps!
Eye exam on Feb 17th, glasses picked and ordered. Sent back two weeks later scratched from the lab. Sent back with a two day turnaround. Did anyone see my glasses? This is March 15th, I haven't and neither has MyEyeDr., where I purchased them. No response from the VSP labs, nothing. Buy a Humana eye plan, my wife has it and they are fantastic. VSP, Very ** Product! I vote with my bucks.
One star is way too high a score for VSP so-called vision insurance but this system leaves me no other choice... Based on our plan I am supposed to be able to get new prescription lenses annually with a $25 co-pay. However, it turned out they would only cover $2 of my prescription lenses IF I add an extra $25 to my out-of-pocket bill for their "co-pay". Otherwise, if I don’t add to the bill (10x their "coverage"), they won't participate at all. In other words, it's cheaper to pay out of pocket than to get their $2 annual "coverage". I should mention, this took well over an hour on the phone with three different reps to verify such absurdity. Don’t walk, RUN! But more importantly, save your money and your time.
I joined VSP September 16, 2017. Yearly program 26.45 / Month. Had to pay 52.90 first month. Been paying 26.45/ month ever since. The cost of my insurance is more than the cost of glasses, and I was advised by them that I was allowed only one pair per year. I have tried, for the past two weeks to view my account online, with no success. They agree with my ID over the phone (since I have been totally unable to log in on the web). I have called several times with agreement to my ID number, but have been hung up by their reps. My account name and password, which have been stored in a password vault, are of no use. Tried to login with my account ID, but they say that the last 4 digits of my social are incorrect? Finally got to a woman who said she would set up a way for me to login in and change my login information. She promised to email me the information. No email from anyone in VSP. I'm concerned about my ability to stop the annual in September. Need help because I'm not even able to contact them. I would suggest that anyone joining, attempt a login to their account immediately.
VSP coverage states what the co-pay is for most 'benefits', however they don't actually cover anything useful in those benefits. Meaning that for most cases you end up paying more than just going without insurance. For example: Contact Lens Exam coverage noted as being included and that I am eligible with $0 co-pay, with $140 towards the cost of contact lenses themselves, but then in small print "Your contact lens exam is not covered. You'll need to pay the provider directly." If I have to pay the provider out of pocket for the contact lens exam, then why say that I have a $0 co-pay for a contact lens exam.Prescription Lens coverage noted as being included and that I am eligible with $10 co-pay, however immediately below that is a price list for each lens (e.g. UV protection, scratch resistant protection, etc.) with a note that "you should expect to pay no more than the following costs..." With all the costs for lens types being more than what they are without insurance (from personal experience of having had to buy glasses without insurance). Worthless insurance - if your employer offers this, don't make the same mistake as I did.
I gave up on trying to find a decent VSP doctor and went to my usual and just paid out of pocket. I figured that I could make up some of that back by using VSP's eyeconic.com website. SO HORRIBLE. I placed the order on December 31. Okay, New Year's Eve day, so maybe it would take a little longer... Packed SHIPPED on Jan. 21. They did send me a 5% discount apology. So I wanted to chalk it up to a onetime thing because I'm pretty lazy, so I just tried to reorder. Logged in, clicked re-order and because they updated their systems, all prescriptions from before Jan. 1 were not carried over and I would have to verify my prescription again, which is what customer service told me. When I asked what the benefit of the website is because costco has cheaper contacts, no shipping and arrives in less than a week, her response was, "What do you want from me?" Awesome. Totally not worth the $ on insurance. Just pay $75 for your monthly exam and get your stuff at costco.
I purchased what I thought were the top of the line lenses through VSP. First I had to wait two weeks to get the glasses. When I picked them up, one lens had quite a noticeable flaw - how it got past "quality check" is beyond me. So then I had to wait another week before I could actually wear the glasses. Now I can't see clearly. My old glasses are 100xs better than the ones purchased from VSP. You got it; I bought my other pair from LensCrafters (PS: I am going back to LC!) I was told VSP does not refund. Well now I see how VSP make their money! They took me for $151. I will never use VSP again and I am cancelling my policy. My advice, do not buy glasses from VSP unless you really want to waste money. Buy lottery tickets and avoid VSP!
My coverage for myself and my husband should have been a simple process: we submitted the receipt from Kaiser and a clear explanation of our coverage for an out of network provider and should have gotten $235 reimbursed for my trifocal lenses, frames, my husband's frames, and single vision lenses. Instead, we got a check for $105 for contact lenses. Neither of us got contacts, so I wrote them a letter, returned the check, and explained that they must have gotten someone else's bill mixed up with ours. I included my husband's letter, the bill from Kaiser as well, a copy of the coverage we should expect from my employer, and clearly explained what they owed us and sent it March 4, 2016. My husband just called them today, May 19, 2016 because we never heard back from them. They could not explain why they had made such a mistake, and they did find the check and my letter, and also could not explain why they had not responded.They argued that since Kaiser said I had progressive lenses, they would not reimburse me for trifocals, so they are refunding us $220. Otherwise we could go back to Kaiser, get them to correct the receipt, and send it all again to VSP. Not worth the hassle. (According to my description of coverage from my employer, progressive lenses are not listed at all, they only mention the trifocals that I got). Would I buy this extra vision care coverage again? No, thank you. I am unimpressed with their service. Not worth the hassle for us.
Nearly every place that accepts this coverage charged an arm and a leg for frames. After sending an email asking to deny a glasses claim (the salesman was pushy and ordered them after I specifically said not to), VSP took a week to get back to me. They finally responded back asking permission to use my name to resolve the issue. Well, yes. Please. How else would you resolve it? Now it's been another week, no more contact with customer service, and I've since gotten a call from the eye clinic telling me my glasses were ready. After telling them I didn't want them, and had told at least two people there I didn't want them, the salesman (same pushy jerk that ordered them after I said no) got irritated with me. I won't bother using my "insurance" again. I'll go back to Costco where the customer service is great and the prices are reasonable.
I have had VSP for a few months now, they paid a portion of my doctor visit which was not worth it to me but then I needed to buy contact lenses. I called VSP first to ask how it works if I go to someone other than my Dr. or their own service. They told me I have $105 to use outside their service. I would need to submit my receipt and a check would be processed. I found a website and used a coupon which brought the order under $120, I was trying to save money for the company (dumb right). Well I received my check yesterday and they only $89.90, $17.94 less than the bill submitted because they don't pay for shipping or any type of processing. So, why did I go out of my way to find my contacts at a cheaper store and use a coupon just so that I would still be stuck paying out of pocket? I would not go into another year contract with VSP, they should have been upfront with me and told me the truth, now I am dissatisfied with the company and would not use them again.
I've had the VSP High Option through my employer for 3 years. Finally went for an eye exam from an out of network eye doctor. Got my glasses at Walmart Optical. The folks at Walmart were literally excited to find out I had the coverage I did because my glasses would be $10 irrespective of what I choose. Naturally I went with nice frames with the best lenses for my progressive bifocals with transitions lenses. Then I called VSP customer service to see if they would pay for out of network exams. The representative asked for the phone number of my doctor, put me on hold for about two minutes, called the doctor and had them send the bill directly to them. A complete WOW experience.
This company is a consumer NIGHTMARE! Why have an insurance that covers "all of these glasses over here, and these types of lenses," according to the Eye Dr. only to get a bill for everything that was "covered" by VSP! This is entrapment! If they were part of the BBB I would start complaining there. My two cents is, I would rather pay out of pocket than be misled and lied to. I can't wait to cancel this SCAM of an insurance company, and then go straight to my FORBES 500 company I work for and let them know what crooks VSP are. It's unfortunate for my Eye Dr. that I will be returning all of my glasses and lenses for a refund. Even my Eye Dr. confirmed that VSP is the WORST and most dishonest Insurance provider they partner with. They too spend hourly wages paying associates entire 8 hr shifts, just calling to deal with VSP. They tell me they see what is covered by a patient's VSP plan, and provide them with the selection of frames to choose from, and the types of lenses that are covered. Then submit to VSP, only to have everything denied. My Question to VSP was, why would you tell an Eye Care provider who accepts your VSP insurance, what is covered, then deny the claim once it's submitted. They basically tell me, you need to call your eye care provider. Seriously, this is my mission to spread the word about VSP being thieves, crooked, liars. THIS COMPANY IS FRAUD! Something needs to be done. Who protects the consumer? Sincerely, Angry consumer!
I used their vision for an eye exam, and without any knowledge doctor gave me like 5 pairs of "sample" contact lens to try out, and I tried and did not like the feeling. Couple months when I try to get regular glasses, VSP said I already picked a contact lens solution and say I'm not eligible for a pair of regular glasses, and not eligible for glasses frame for TWO YEARS. Also, supposedly any overseas glasses purchase is covered by the plan just like domestic, and that online claim is supported. When go to the online claim form, they limit all the address to be US address. They will make your life a lot more difficult to save a few bucks. WILL NEVER EVER DO ANY BUSINESS WITH THEM.
Had my DIABETIC eye exam today, picked out designer frames, progressive lenses, enhancements, anti scratch, anti glare coatings. Total was close to $900, VSP insurance paid $810, I paid $90, will receive glasses in two weeks. COULD NOT BE ANY HAPPIER!
The optometrist we formerly used suddenly ceased doing business and we were unable to obtain records and benefits. Calling VSP they answered promptly, did what was required and one could not imagine how easy the process was made. Thank you VSP - wish there were more such efficiently run business operations.
I ordered through my insurance through Eyeconic and VSP. I received Air Optix. I spoke to a rep over the phone regarding the colors, his advice was to check both boxes for color problems. They both had no color. I send them back, only to be told they can exchange but for clear contacts, no refund. First of all Air Optix suck. Why would I want to reorder them? I'll never order through them again. If using insurance, stay local or try another company. Air Optix isn't the colors for you if you have dark Eyes, they should really state that on their box. Scammers!
I joined VSP on 7/01/2015. Seen my VSP physician provider on 7/02/2015. My VSP savings statement was $659.00 without coverage and $128.00 with the coverage. I was told that my glasses would take 10 working days to arrive from VSP labs or possible sooner according to their recent turnaround. My order went out from my doctor's office Monday the 5th and awaiting to receive my new glasses. Well Vision Exam process was great and savings was remarkable. I have nothing negative to say about VSP. I highly recommend them if you like savings and quality Customer service. Now I'm hoping that I receive my glasses as promised. Will update you on the result when this happens. :)Updated 7/14/2015 - I'm writing this as an update to my review submitted on 7/10 on VSP Vision Care. I received my new glasses after only 7 working days, and I am very pleased with the results. I CAN ACTUALLY SEE NOW! Great company!
I finally found out why you get more benefit when buying contacts or glasses from vsp doctor vs. going with out of network vendors. When you buy from vsp providers, vsp pays the providers instead of you. But when you buy from out of network vendors, vsp pays you back as reimbursement. The key here is that the consumers doesn't know how much vsp really pays their network doctors. $130 contact lens benefit at the doctor's office only translates to $105 payment to the doctor. And that's the reason you'll only get $105 reimbursement when you buy from out of network vendors. It's the same with glasses. $120 frame benefit only turns to $47 for the doctor. Vsp is forcing their network providers to increase the material prices to avoid a loss.You may think this is a scam. But if you look around, this is how insurance works in general. Vsp is actually the better one among other vision insurances. I tried others and finally switched back. I tried one with good coverage but very difficult to find providers and the providers I call always busy and had to wait 3-4 weeks for an appointment. Please do list a better alternative if you find one. I really like to switch to it.
What a mess this has been. We cancelled our VSP plan in December for the upcoming year, however the person that took our cancellation did not complete it correctly, so we continued to be charged for January and February until we caught it. We then called, and were told that the person completed the request incorrectly, and that we would be issued a refund within 7 business days. We waited for 3 weeks, nothing appeared. We called back and were told that the finance department read the request wrong and never issued the refund, and that we would need to wait 7 more business days. So again, we waited two weeks, and no refund. We called again, and were told the EXACT same story, that the finance department misunderstood the request, and did not issue the refund. We will now need to wait 7 more business days for the refund. At this point, it's been 6 weeks since we were promised a refund. I do not know when we will get it, but it seems impossible. When we called we were promised that it was completed, but obviously we were lied to. How can you get something wrong so many times?
Their selection of frames (according to the salespeople) although have brand names, are all coming from same factory. They don't really have good variety and mostly made in China which break very easily. The labs are not the best I heard and delays of jobs happen constantly. Wish I knew better. I will not recommend this type of vision insurance to anyone as they are not quality.
I went to the VisionPro eye care in April to get new eyeglasses. I signed and talked to someone at the desk, but when I called back as requested, I was told that I was not covered and I would have to wait a year before I qualify for a new pair of eyeglasses. She went so far as to tell me to feel free to go someplace else, as if I did not know this. However, I am a 63-year-old woman on medical and need glasses for everyday functions. So I called another VSP. I was asked to come in and I gave the same info. I was told to pick a pair of glasses as in the previous office. I did. So today, May 3, 2013, I went in to the Belleville, MI office to get the glasses and was told that I could buy a pair for $124.00. I do not have the money and it clearly states on my member handbook that I am covered for frames every 12 months. I need eyeglasses for my everyday life and I cannot afford to go through this kind of racist game. Thank you.
"IN NETWORK" is distinctly limited to small, private eye care providers. For this reason, could only be helpful in rural or small town areas, where choices are very limited. I feel that VSP is a complete waste of money for patients in large Metropolitan areas, particularly if you prefer the larger, more popular vision care RETAILERS. Not practical that eyeglass FRAMES only covered every OTHER year. Overall, the only party who reaps any benefit from your payments for coverage is VSP Vision. To be more honest, THEY SHOULD CHANGE THE WORD "CARE" to "ILLUSION!" I have registered a complaint with my employer and asked them to pursue another source for vision care plan.
I pay about $10 a month for my VSP insurance through my job. I also get a free eye exam from my medical insurance. Typically with my medical insurance I will get a free "contact lens fitting". However, with VSP, which seems like a scam, they say that you are eligible for either contact lens or prescription lenses. I use contacts so I have to pay for this extra "contact lens fitting" instead of a free eye exam. Where as if I wore glasses I would have "free" eye exam and that would not cut into my allotment for frames and lenses.Basically on their website it makes it seem like a contact lens exam is "free" but it really is part of the $150 you get. I ended up paying an extra $47 out of pocket for this "contact lens exam". Overall I paid $120 a year for the coverage plus $47 for the exam putting me up at $167 a year just to get $150 of free contacts that are over-priced anyways. This insurance is a scam and is not insurance at all. If I didn't have this insurance, my medical insurance would have covered my "eye exam/contact lens fitting". And to purchase a year’s worth of contacts it would be closer to $100-$120 instead of the $150-$200 they are going to charge me. All in all VSP is a scam!
I had to get glasses and decided to check with Costco even though not on VSP list. Picked out frame and progressive lenses, tinted and coated with diff strength for each eye. All of this would have been a la carte at listed VSP provider. Costco total was $190 and then when I told her I had VSP, she checked and it paid $125. So I got progressive lenses and frame for $65. Very pleased.
All they kept asking for was my social security number. Needless to say I did not give it to them.
I thought the idea of ordering online and as part of VSP's preferred partner this would be fast and efficient. First their site is very slow but not a big deal overall. I ordered and upload my prescription for glasses 8 days ago and my order just went into fulfillment status yesterday - my glasses are not even made yet! So by the time you add on the 7-10 day delivery I may get them somewhere around 2-3 weeks post the date ordered. Should have just got my glasses at my doctor's office. Also they charged me 23.00 for frames/lens that were 100% covered by my VSP benefits and also a 25.00 co-pay that was already fulfilled when I saw my eye doctor. I questioned them on all of this and they said (2 days later) I should contact VSP about it. Just UGH!
VSP's benefits (even on the highest tier) does not provide any discounts as with previous vision insurance (UHC) for glasses. Very little $$ is taken off from prescription glasses. Also doesn't help that the doctors in their network charge close to thousands for prescription glasses. One doctor I went to even tried to get my medical insurance information so he can avoid using VSP. Very shady practices from the doctors they are in business with.
I ordered my glasses at MyEyeDr.com local office 3 weeks ago, and the lab that they are required to use still has not fulfilled my order. 3 weeks is not acceptable to wait for regular bifocal glasses.
This is a scam in short. Went to the "affiliated", "in-network", "out-of-network" stores and nowhere you will be able to get a decent pair of glasses without paying exorbitant amount of money. In almost all the stores, they say the lens and frame will cost me close to $500 and VSP only pays 130 out of it. Useless to pay for its premium, instead directly go to the store and buy whichever frame and glass you want for way less money.
Insurance Online
Type
 
 
By submitting your information you claim you have read and understood and agree to Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, Responsible Lending and Marketing Practices See offers
Other Reviews