Menu
Home page Insurance Online! About us Contact Privacy Policy FAQ Terms of use How it works Responsible Lending Marketing Practices

John Hancock Life Insurance Online Reviews

Company Name: John Hancock
Website: www.johnhancock.com
1.3 
Overall average rating of 1.3 out of 5, and the percentage of positive recommendations 0 %
My employer rolled my 401k automatically over to John Hancock. When I left the company they automatically rolled it into a IRA. No issues here. What happened though was every time I called I had to navigate through numerous cyclical menus and after 20 to 30 minutes on hold every time was usually they were unable to find my account. So over 2 years my $400 turned into about $260 after sitting in cash with astronomical fees and a $30 charge to move my money out of there and into a different company. Disgusting.
John Hancock refused to honor my claim for my Grandfather's trust: I am writing you today to officially document my findings on a trail of black money and super bills as well as war accounts dating back to 1777. Over the last 250 years, multiple individuals and companies to include banks, government officials and even past presidents have been stealing from funds either unclaimed and from deceased individual with pensions and life insurance policies never given to family members of the deceased. Documents and funds have been transferred via NH deeds for over 200 years based on the evidence I have found. Originally, I was contacted by the state of NH early August regarding an unclaimed fund I noticed on and unclaimed funds site connected nationally. A representative from the State of NH contacted me and instructed me to contact John Hancock regarding Bernard ** to confirm I was the correct person they were looking for. When I contacted John Hancock, it was explained to me I needed to obtain the original death certificate and to mail it along with my credentials and the application they e-mailed me. It was explained that 2 bonds were left in my name that were purchase by Bernard’s father 1 year after he was born in 1923. In order to obtain the bonds, I would need to send the requested documentation. They asked me when Bernard passed away because they did not have his last location or death certificate on file. I explained to the representative at that point that I did not know, and I would have to look into it because I didn't know anything of Bernard ** and I assumed he was a patient I took care of when I work in NH in 2006 at Exeter Hospital. Enclosed you will find a mass amount of documents on the USB port I have sent. It’s a story that unfolds into an unbelievable discovery that has been hidden for over 250 years. Without getting into too many details, I can tell you this. What I have found will affect the history of the United States as well as the rest of the world. The following documents lead to John Sullivan and William Sullivan and the rest of the Sullivan’s connected to political positions as well as Mitt Romney, Secretary of Treasure Mr. Green, Ex-President Bush 1 and Bush 2, Bain (BANE) Corporation, cotton farms, John Hancock, multiple oil co., Bank of America, Citizens Bank, City Bank and at least 20 other banks to include the Navy Credit Union. Almost 70% of the deeds used in transferring funds were transferring the deeds stating the transferring purchase price was $1.00. This had been going on for generations.
The initial application process is much easier than you would think, and every member of the staff treats you respectfully and makes you feel like family. They show you how much they care about your family's future, and you will never feel so confident and secured that you have taken steps to support your loved ones no matter what the future holds.
2009 my mom passed away, she & my dad have had Hancock life ins. since 1959. Dad turned in her ins. policy & was told she had taken a loan on the policy & they would take the balance due from his claim. Mom never took a loan from that policy even though they took over $3000.00, it's now 2015 & Dad is still receiving a bill for $3837.77. When I speak to them about this they say it's got to do with increased rates (their rate was locked in 1959). Also, this is the hardest company to find a phone # to speak to an actual person, all their business is done by mail... Why so hard to contact, is it their under-handed way of doing business - would not recommend this company to anyone!
My policy is provided through my employer. Our representative with John Hancock has made himself available to my husband and I for any questions that we have had. Very soon we will be inquiring about more coverage and I know that our questions will be answered fully and in a timely manner as they have in all of the past interactions we have had.
They are a bunch of crooks. I tried to cash in my account and they told me that there were mistakes on the old paper work and that they have to freeze my account. I am now waiting to get a lawyer to get my $26,000 back. Please do yourself a favor and stay away from these people.
This company is a joke! I have a home care company and have a client that has John Hancock Long Term Care. He has been approved for $105.00 a day. I have nearly $6,000 in unpaid bills. Every time I call, they give me a different Fax Number to send it to, a different address and a different department. DO NOT GET JOHN HANCOCK Insurance for anything.
For the last 2 months, I have been getting the runaround in regards to a group annuity I am to receive from a deceased relative. I have called several times, with today telling them that I better get my information today via email as I originally requested and neither of us are getting off this phone until it happens. They NEVER kept any records from our phone calls, so they had not have my email address or my mailing address. They were mailing items to another mailing address AFTER I specifically told them that is NOT the mailing address. When I finally received my paperwork, I was supposed to get an email with a password and pin number. Guess what? I NEVER got that either.
I am glad my parents prepared financially for their health care needs. I am also glad that John Hancock has reimbursed consistently without issue. The issue arose when I attempted to set up assignment of benefits to my father's care provider. We needed to have payments go directly to the provider. Been working on this process for 4-5 months now. The required documents were submitted. Each time I called they said they did not have the documents. Resubmitted them 3 times - faxed, mailed, emailed. No one seemed to care or realize that there may be an issue on their end regarding the missing document. Finally I asked if it is possible that they are putting my father's documents under my mother's policy. So after 4 aggravating months the mystery was solved. I was told the documents would be moved to my father's policy and submitted for assignments of benefits. I called back 2 weeks later and had to go through the exact same conversation and lengthy hold times. The documents were not moved. The woman on the phone sounded very confident and told me that she would expedite the process so payment would be made to the care provider by the required date. I believed her and shame on me. Was called by my care provider that they did receive payment. Called John Hancock once again. I'm told payment was sent out beginning of the month and should be there. I ask where the payment was sent. I had to ask the question 3 times to get an actual answer. They did not send it to the care provider. Again I am told that the documents are not there. After being on the phone 25 minutes this time, most of it on hold, they do have the documents and will submit for assignments of benefits. At this point, I am angry and don't believe what they tell me. I hated taking it out on the person on the other end of the phone but there is a serious lack of caring and follow through going on at John Hancock. Someone is supposed to call me with 48-72 hours. On previous calls I asked to speak with a supervisor and was left on hold entirely too long, asked to have someone call me and was told they don't call out. So I will not be holding my breath waiting for the call back.
My father (who passed Oct 2014) opened a Life Ins. policy with JH in 1977 and named his 3 children as beneficiaries. I am the youngest child and dumbfounded at the results. I have no idea the dollar amount of the policy when opened or how much my dad contributed over the years. However, JH indicates that it was a $15.00 policy. In 37 years, it earned $18.00 in dividends which equals a value of $33.00. We each received a check for $11.00. What the hell is that? My father was a math genius, taught math, & invested. He would not have a policy of such nonsense for 37 years. How can we figure this out... did his agent embezzle money (who was his friend and now is in a nursing home with Alzheimer’s) or how do we find exactly what went on with the policy? This is a joke and my dad wouldn't have done this to us.
For the last few years, I had individual long term care insurance policy with this company that I allowed to lapse due to financial difficulties on May 10, 2015. I had purchased this policy from Donald ** at the Sarasota FL office on cattle ridge Drive. When my agent D. ** found out about the lapse, he immediately tried to sell me on a different type of insurance policy that he told me would be both life insurance and also disability insurance (the name on the policy is: flexible premium universal life insurance). I told him at that time that I couldn't afford this policy right now because of my financial situation, nor that I needed life insurance because I have no dependents. He said this was also disability insurance. So he pushed on and told me, "let's just see if you can even qualify for this policy first and then you can decide later if you want to enable it."So I did, went through the medical exam and passed it. Then he called up and told me he was coming by my house to retrieve a check, but again I told him "No", that at that moment (August 27th) I still couldn't afford to pay a premium. Yet he pushed and pushed to get a check out of me with a promise he wouldn't deposit it so I gave him a check but only because I trusted him on his word that he would hold it and not deposit it, until I would initiate a phone call to his office telling them that they could.I'm self employed and my income is very irregular and the premium is a lot of money to me. Now here is where he literally screwed me. When he made me write out a check and promised me he would NOT deposit it until I initiated a phone call to his office telling him to deposit it. I NEVER made that call but I got a phone call from him 10 days later on September 5th that he wanted to deliver a policy to me, I think he came to my house on September 7 to be precise. I thought this very was odd because I hadn't paid for it (or so I thought) and again I said, "But I can't pay for it now" and he said, "That's okay you have 30 days to see if you can afford it. Just give our office a call when you can afford it and we will deposit the check." I didn't know at that time that my check had already been deposited, so he was lying to me about that.Then he made me sign tons of pages super fast without showing me what was on these pages even, but again, I trusted him. He apologized for not using carbon paper. I had no idea what I was signing for but I trusted him. BTW, I received zero copies of what I signed!!! I found out later. Meanwhile I'm getting lots of mail and bills, such as medical bills that I had no money to pay for them, so I threw them all on a big pile. If you've ever been this broke, it's hard to face or open any bills if you have no money, hence a big pile started to form.Today I finally did go through all my mail. Only to discover that he had indeed deposited the check already on September 4, 2015, this was done before he delivered my policy on September 7th, only one week after I gave him the check on August 27th, and without getting my consent to deposit it. I had no knowledge that this had been happening and my fault for not checking my own mail sooner. There's more. He MUST have made me sign something that day on September 7 that would take a premium automatically out of my checking account because I happened to check my statements today as well and see a payment pending. I was shocked when I saw that!I vaguely do remember signing for this, there were so many pages and he was acting all nervous and fast, chewing gum like a rabbit. I didn't want to sign my consent for that and I told him so. I ABSOLUTELY clearly remember him promising me that he would not use this withdrawal consent until I gave him the green light for it. I NEVER, NEVER DID!!! I'm telling you the truth here, because another piece of mail I opened today showed me a letter written on September 11, 2015 that I had consented for this automatic withdrawal. So he had lied to me then also and just submitted the consent form as soon as he got his hands on it. This came as a huge surprise to me.When he made me sign all this paperwork so quickly I honestly had no idea that I committed even to ANYTHING AT THAT TIME because he kept assuring me that without my oral approval, he would not engage this policy or deposit the check (which he already had deposited behind my back). Meanwhile, my bank account is overdrawn and I have no way even of bringing the balance above zero. The October payment is still in "pending" state at this moment. It also turns out that this policy is not a disability paying policy! What a freaking liar.
I received a death benefit letter from John Hancock informing me that I was a beneficiary of my relative's fixed annuity. I followed the instructions on making a claim and waited patiently for a response to the claim. I called multiple times to get an update on the claim and was given the runaround, being transferred to different people, being put on hold for periods of time, and being promised several times that I would receive something in the mail within 7-10 business days (which never came). After almost 2 months I finally received a definite answer when I called and was told that the company made a mistake and that I wasn't the beneficiary, someone else was. They didn't have the integrity to contact me to inform me of the mistake. How does a life insurance company make those kinds of mistakes? I have experienced unprofessional customer service, poor knowledge of the company from John Hancock reps, and I would recommend that people stay far away from utilizing the company's service.
Read the small print on your long term contracts. We have been attempting to get claims paid for my mother's care under her plan... but now after 4 months ofpaperwork, arguing, calling, faxing... they tell us that the elimination days are the actual days of professional care and not days at our home rehabbing under our care. ONLY THE DAYS that she had Occupational or Physical Therapy, Nursing or Home Aid care COUNTED as elimination days. So our 60 day timeline of care only counted as 25 days per John Hancock. They failed to tell us about the FINE PRINT (notice the use of caps on FINE PRINT) about the days they consider elimination days. BEWARE of John Hancock and make sure your agent... yeah right... the agent knows the scoop on the fine print of these policies. Small wonder insurance companies are making small fortunes these days on the backs of their small print contracts.
John Hancock offer mediocre customer service and even worse help if they know you are rolling over your money out. The forms to roll over my 401k are confusing, There is no need for that... the choices are to: 1. roll over my 401k IRA or Roth IRA with John Hancock into another IRA or ROTH IRA account or 2. roll over into another Co. 401k (aka retirement account) from another employer. Two easy choices, it should be straight thru roll over, not complications.The terminology in their crappy forms seems purposely confusing, the only choice to roll over a Roth is to a retirement account, namely the term for another 401k sponsor plan, when I ask about a form with a choice for IRA/Roth IRA they said, "It’s the same thing", well is not. They require that my other IRA company sign an acknowledgment that they accept Roth IRA rollover. I ask, "Is this a gov mandate?" they said, "It's requirement." They're pull out of the air to make things complicated unnecessarily...Also when I was still employed with e Co. sponsoring the plan, they would answer the phone after a relatively long wait of 10-15 minutes, not they take 38 to 55 minutes because I select "I am not with employer sponsoring the retirement account and I want to roll over my funds". Other institutions let you do this electronically. They seems stuck in the previous century a not at all interested in customer service.
401K or maybe not OK. Retired 4/13/2018 - filled out paperwork for lump sum dispersal of my retirement plan and submitted to HR on 4/10. Supposed to be deposited into my savings within 3 to 5 days. It's over a month later and no deposit made. Called yesterday and they decided to send a check to my former employer. How is that legal when I am primary on my account and my daughter is secondary? Thank God they didn't decide to send a check to my daughter or I'd never see it! Now I get to wait for my former employer to get the money, wait for the check to clear, then wait for them to send me MY OWN MONEY. I always wondered WHY they sent my statements to my employer instead of to me directly. Most times they'd sit on his desk for six months before being forwarded to the employees. Why is it my employer's business to know my finances? I'll be so happy when this is all over but my nerves are shot right now! That's my retirement you just handed to someone else! Not in the least happy.
Filled out all forms from John Hancock including a voided check for the electronic funds transfer. Phoned to find out date of transfer. Was informed that the check was in the mail. They didn't approve that the account had the word "remodeling" even though it was in the name of our trust. I was not notified that JH would not perform the electronic transfer.Our mailboxes are the rural type in groups of eight (8) at the curb. This is a city of 500,000 and, yes, some subdivisions have rural type mailboxes. Also learned that this account had diminished by 5% because the stock market had declined. The funds transfer was approved two (2) days prior the decline. I can only hope that the check is not lifted from my rural mailbox. My State Farm agent came to my house with the paperwork filled out, I read and signed it. Had the funds within a week. I got the feeling that JH prefers to hang onto the client's money. The thirty (30) pages of paperwork was astounding!
My mother in law has been trying to surrender 2 of her policies. She is 84 years old and has many health problems. My husband and I have been caring for her for 2 or more years. She has a house and does not want to lose it to back taxes and so she decided to surrender 2 of her policies. For 7 weeks since they sent us the paperwork for her to fill out they have jerked her around, me and my husband. I faxed the paperwork from my job 15 to 20 times. They say wait 24 to 48 hours before it is in the system for them to tell us whether they got it or not. When we call they say they are missing something. Conflicting stories and the rest is absolutely B.S. 84 years old and they are treating her as if she has no right to the money. We called the insurance commissioner today and filing a formal complaint.
To this day John Hancock has not provided us the complete address of the "Plan Trustee". I have no idea what a Plan Trustee would do with a check made out to Fidelity. I requested money from other 401 accounts and the money went directly to the Rollover account.
This is about my Mom Joyce, who had a life insurance plan for over $20,000. John Hancock told her they were changing the name of their business so they had to increase the amount she was already paying on her insurance. She told them she couldn’t afford it, so they bought her out by keeping everything except a $900.00 check. What a rip off, but my mom is not the type to fight for her rights so they took advantage. The reason I’m writing this is because I’m hoping someone can give me info on how to help my Mom get at least half her money back.
My 85 year old mother has been paying on this crappy long term insurance policy for decades and now that she finally needs it these bottom feeders make it impossible to get reimbursed. Every time I call it's the same bs about how they didn't receive the correct information and it needs to be faxed over again. Even the asst. living / home health care companies are on to their scam. As soon as I told them my mom had John Hancock they said be prepared to fax everything several time b/c they will tell you that they didn't receive it to keep from paying out... and it's true! They should be ashamed for taking advantage of the elderly!
I am a weekend care giver for a client of theirs. I have not been paid for 3 months. Every time we call to check on what's going on, we are told something different. I have worked for this lady for over a year. Now, all of the sudden, there is an issue. But nobody seems to know what it is. Very frustrating and unprofessional. GET IT TOGETHER JOHN HANCOCK.
I have two policy with this company, paying premium over 15 years. About $4000 yearly. Now I have cash value of over $50,000. I needed some cash, so I called to withdraw some cash (not all of them). They will not let me withdraw the cash value. They push for a loan with 5% interest. Why do I make loan to my own money? Why pay interest to them? I have two more policy with Metlife. They were great!! I cashed my cash value and keep my policy in force. Why can they do that?
I am trying to get reimbursement for my mothers Long Term Care policy. Her policy required that she pay the first 6 months which she has done and that the policy would start reimbursement beginning at the end of the 6 months. This all began in Feb. 2015. The reimbursements should have begun August 2015. To date no reimbursements. 5 months now I have been trying to deal with John Hancock. I get the run around dealing with call centers. I cannot get anyone to look at the case and talk to me. Very frustrating. When I ask for a local rep I'm told there are not agents or reps. Really, If I wanted to BUY A NEW POLICY I'm sure an agent would be available. Now sending an entire history to the state insurance commissioner to ask them to help me out.
Very long hold times and unresponsive w/requests. It's like once you're signed up w/JH long-term products, you are treated like you're stuck w/them so they don't need to impress further. I have some JH VUL products and it has been very unpleasant dealing w/them. It give me no peace of mind.
John Hancock let a felon write life insurance, and designated him as a "special agent." He was convicted with insurance fraud. How does an insurance company allow a felon to write for them? Are we assuming they were deficient in their background check? If this is the case, how can anyone trust John Hancock's to be a reliable source for good and honest representation of their products? This lack of recognizing ethical and moral character has given John Hancock a way to abuse the vulnerability of seniors. This is the very lack of action by John Hancock that lead to my parents getting scammed and in essence, robbed of about $4,000,000.
JH has made losing both of my parents an unspeakable nightmare! After losing my Dad, my Mom and I were told by JH his whole life policy was no good. We paid all funeral and final expenses out of pocket. After seeking legal advice and contacting JH again, they rescinded and told me the policy actually was good, then proceeded to put us through over four years of jumping through hoops. Now I've lost my Mom and had to pay all of her funeral costs and JH is still playing that game, figuring I'll give up. They sent a check for $1,400.00 when the policy should pay over $15,000.00. A pittance to them...but all the money in the world to me, I'm now broke.
I have a contract to sell a number of John Hancock annuity payments, submitted on September 24th. According to John Hancock, the transaction would be completed within 20-30 days maximum. A similar transaction was carried out on three previous occasions, each one also handled in a slovenly, unbusinesslike manner. To date, no one in their Structured Settlement Division will provide information as to the status of this transaction. They will neither return phone calls nor speak to me or DRB Capital on the phone. I advised them via Certified Mail in September that this was a medical emergency and to please expedite the process. The letter was never acknowledged and the paperwork remains unfinished. In another recent incident with John Hancock, I advised them in August that I changed banks and notified John Hancock by FAX and in writing of my new bank account for direct deposit. For TWO MONTHS my annuity payments were deposited in a closed account which was inaccessible to me and cost me money to retrieve. It is still uncertain as to whether my next payment, due in November, will be deposited into the correct account.I paid $800,000 for an immediate annuity with Manufacturers Life which was subsequently bought out by John Hancock. Everything is handled through their call center in the Philippines. This is also concerning as my personal financial information is being shared with foreign nationals. It is virtually impossible to talk to someone who is actually in control of a particular transaction or request. The company is unresponsive and fails to service their clients in an ethical and timely manner.
My mother has paid on a policy for more than 20 years. After my father passed, I had to place my mother in a facility in March 2014. John Hancock did begin to reimburse me for their portion. After moving her back to her home in March 2015, I pay for her 24-hours care for the final stage of Alzheimer's. John Hancock refuses to reimburse me for the amount that they pay, even though the received paperwork indicating that mother is on hospice.
I have been trying for the past several years to get money out of an old IRA that was started over 40 years ago. I've spoken with numerous "representatives" and finally got some paperwork to fill out. I filled it out, got it notarized and sent it last July. Since then I've had no written correspondence from John Hancock. I have called a number of times and was it would be expedited. Called back today, after about an hour of getting shuffled around I spoke with "Jay" who finally told me they would send a form to schedule payments. I pointed out that I had requested a lump sum payment. After another wait Jay came back and told me I had marked the wrong box, the one for annuitization, I point out that what he said was total BS since I had copied that form before I sent it to them in July and "Lump Sum Payment" was clearly marked. I am again on hold...
I was contacted by this John Hancock Insurance Company 6 months ago about funds from a policy from my grandmother that were going to be released to the state. I spent 6 months of my time and almost $200 assembling all of the paperwork and death certificates required. After 6 months, I received a letter telling me these funds reverted to the state in 2005, 9 years ago! I don't understand how this company tolerates such incompetence. Obviously it's too late for me to receive these funds, but it should not be too late for these incompetent employees to be reprimanded or worse. They initiated this contact, corresponded with me 6 or more times in writing and by phone, and they did not bother to check and see that the funds were not available. They should be ashamed to have such incompetent workers employed by John Hancock.
The customer service of John Hancock leaves a lot to be desired so much so that I closed an annuity, that generated a monthly income stream, which I opened on 11/27/2007 and terminated on 08/25/2015, as I could no longer deal with their inefficiency. Depending on whom you are connected to at customer service in the US or the Philippines, where they outsource, the answers are never the same from rep to rep and/or answers are wrong and/or incomplete or they put you on hold for "a second" which translates into 5-10-15 minutes or more. I am an American expat that happens to live in Asia where 1-800 numbers do not equate to toll-free which means I am paying for calls to solve issues or ask simple questions. JH unlike the 8 other annuity companies that I deal with "are not permitted" to make overseas calls.The most recent (as the history is far too long to get into) example of this lack of quality customer service had to do with a simple request for a 1099R so that I could finish my 2015 US taxes way ahead of the April 15th deadline. This year my request is the exception not the rule since I will be out of Asia for 3-4 months in a location where there is erratic or no e-mail or phone service. Therefore, I needed to receive my 1099R asap to work with my accountant before my departure. For the record JH is the only company out of 8 that I deal with that does not post online 1099R but mails (and not the fastest way possible) them or e-mails them if a client requests them to do so.I did contact JH customer service through JH mail and was advised end Jan would be the best. That is where the good news ends. Since the clock was ticking to complete my 2015 taxes I called customer service and was connected to Rossmiel ** in the Philippines. She was sweet and somewhat helpful after I explained my situation and kind enough to e-mail a 1099R but the one that was sent belonged to another JH client. When I asked her to e-mail my 1099R she did and after I reviewed the calculations compared to my last quarterly statement, it was wrong. I needed to spend close to 45 minutes more long distance going over what the correct numbers should be which she agreed were indeed accurate. I also faxed this saga to Vivia ** Customer Relations and to date did not receive any response.She then advised it would take 7-10 business days for a new corrected 1099R form to be processed and mailed which was totally unacceptable for reasons stated above. After additional phone time I was given a confirmation number # ** and told that she will send a corrected 1099R within 24-48 hours to my e-mail address. That time has passed and a corrected 1099R has not been e-mailed to me as promised. At 5 am today I needed to wake up and then once again chase at my expense the status of this simple request. I was connected to customer service in the US and spoke to Michael (no last name given) having to repeat the entire saga as above. Michael gave me a boilerplate answer that he could not help me since 1099R could not be issued until Jan 27th US date which is already past on my side of the world. So the question I asked is "then if this is correct information how was Rossmiel ** able to issue a 1099R that was not mine and an incorrect 1099R that was mine? Michael could offer no explanation. He then asked me to fax what I was sent by Rossmiel ** to fax number 617-663-3160 which I did and I was advised that he would e-mail my hopefully correct 1099R his time 8 am his date Jan 27th. I am holding my breath. Bottom line I would never consider doing any future business or recommending JH to anyone, especially if they move as I did or live overseas as I do unless they enjoy endless frustration and large phone bills.
They, John Hancock, took my pension check I receive every month back! After they had already put it in my account on the Dec 25 2014!!!! 5 days later I have paid my bills and used my money then today I use my card - no money in my bank acct!!! What! I've been hacked I thought. I run to my bank but no, it was John Hancock who took my check back that was in my acct for 5 days!!!!! This has to be a crime, this is wrong!!! How can they get away with this!! So I call them, they say "oh we paid our check too early!!! So now we took your funds back till Jan 2!!!!" Bull!!! This is their mistake and now I am broke with fees to my bank!!! They should not get away with this!!!!
I've been working with a gentlemen for over a month trying to get John Hancock to change his address, beneficiary and his daughters' address. Her first payment was due May 5, 2018 and we started calling in April, he submitted the forms three or four times, we've called a dozen times and received the runaround. His daughter turned 18 in the midst of our calls and they wouldn't talk to us because she's now an adult. One of the supervisors gave us his direct number; however, since our initial call with him he has never answered his phone and never returned our voice messages. This poor girl is using the money to further her education and has a contract stating she will receive her payment on May 5, 2018. As of today, John Hancock would not confirm when it is being mailed. This is the worst customer service I've encountered in a long time and I would tell anyone thinking of doing business with them to run away. They'll take your money, promise to pay and then leave you high and dry.
For more than 2 months, representatives with John Hancock misidentified my sister and I as beneficiaries of our deceased father's life insurance policy. We gathered all of the requested paperwork and sent them all they asked us to send. After 2 months, we were told that the policy had been amended more than 25 years ago and we were not the beneficiaries. They had overlooked the addendum submitted to them in 1988! Appalling incompetence!
I purchased a policy in April of 2010. After paying premiums for just over one year, they informed me that they are submitting for a rate increase of 37%. They say that this is due to changes in their claims experience. It is ridiculous to think that their research and data could be so poor as to require a 37% rate increase after just one year. I believe that they knew such an increase would be required when I purchased the plan, or they are reconstituting their data to justify a rate increase because they are concerned about the performance of their investments that must finance these plans. Either way, I feel I was misled when I purchased the plan, and I am now being defrauded by this company. I plan to cancel my policy, but when I requested a refund of my premiums, the company refused. They have not come close to meeting reasonable expectations of costs for this type of insurance. This is not like life or health insurance where it is filling a need today. It is purely an investment in the future. If they can get away with a 37% increase after one year, then I have absolutely no idea what this product will cost me by the time I actually use it. This is nothing more than a bait and switch: offer the product at a low price, threaten severe price increases year after year, and pocket the premiums of disgusted customers as they cancel. It is reasonable to demand that they return premiums under these circumstances. In fact, a law requiring reimbursement under such circumstances would be an effective way to get insurance companies to be more honest about the cost of future premiums.
I cashed out of a universal insurance policy that was overpriced. This is an investment product and should have produced a nice payout. JH said they would overnight a check after they refused to direct payment. They gave me a figure, took a week after many phone calls to get the check and they took out a monthly payment then sent me a letter telling me I owe them 1100 dollars!
This company once the leader in Whole Life Insurance has put my family through several days of hours long telephone conversations only to be told that the life insurance policy my deceased sister paid for years did not exist. It turned out that they sold this part of the business to a company in Canada without notifying their policyholders. Shame on them. I rate them below "0" on a scale of 1-10. The aggravation and distress they caused my brother-in-law should be punishable with a jail sentence.
J.H was quick to get their necessary forms to me, that was the end of the promptness. A nurse assessor was supposed to have called and seen my spouse prior to Long Term admission, never told this by J.H. or had any contact with same until I started making waves. Claim Information that I sent all together in one large manila envelope was received by Ins. Co, but J.H. could only find bits and pieces of paperwork. I finally convinced the Claims rep. that if had form X then also had to have form Y as both sent at same time in same envelope. Sounds like left hand doesn't know what right hand doing. My solution: from now on, all information that I send to J.H. will be by registered mail for which they have to sign upon receipt. Pain in the neck to have to go to that step but looks like what will give me proof as to what was received.
I was giving a prospectus 23 years ago and since then John Hancock has sent many proxies to my home changing everything that I originally signed up for and the cash value is nowhere close to what the woman who push the policy and told me no information sheet that at 4% this is how much money I would have after 20 years in the policy. They will end up changing everything to do with the policy and I am NOT even one third of what was supposed to be there at 4 percent interest and she explained to me over the past 20 years John Hancock was paying over 11% so I find this miscarriage of justice and I believe fraud was perpetrated.
My mother passed away. After over 35 mins. on hold, the rep said she would send the claim forms to the address on record. Two weeks later, I'm still waiting. Why would any business think it's acceptable to put any client on hold for that long? For the love of God, you're making millions of dollars, hire some more people!!
Father passed in 2008 - 7 years later I find out that he had a policy. I presented all the required documents, and each time I have called customer service - I keep getting the runaround. It seems that literally they are ending my phone call while I am still speaking. At one point I even asked to speak to a manager, and the customer service person did her best to rebuttal me being able to speak to someone. I can appreciate that the several reps I have spoken with offer their condolences; however not responding to my questions and giving scripted answers has been extremely frustrating. The key to this, is (again) I have submitted all the required documents and today I was still told that it would be another 10-14 days to find out anything. My advice, check with the companies that you have life insurance with and make sure they run a customer service team, that can actually provide answers to your questions. In all situations, Life Insurance is for the people you leave behind. Regardless of the nature of the claim and the complexity of the situation. You do not want your family members after you are gone, getting the runaround. The key to life insurance is to leave a peace of mind. After this amount of time that has gone by, I would rather get this over sooner than later. In addition to that comment, it is ironically strange that the company sent out correspondence 7 years later. Death can occur suddenly and leave family, spouse and legal administrators with the responsibility of "literally" paying for everything. Therefore, again I advise to make sure you have all your T's are crossed and I's are dotted for your family. Otherwise they will spend unnecessary time - fighting for what is legally theirs.
I have had this insurance for over 30 years and am happy with it. The benefits are great and the investment grows quickly. If I have any questions, they are answered in a timely manner. I also have a representative who lives in my town and is very easy to work with.
Deceased father's pension was handled by John Hancock. Worked at Abex Corporation. Sat in account for nearly 30 years. We did not receive any interest on this $168000.00 amount, seems we are due some interest money on that amount. Took years to get that amount released. Can you help. Seems unfair. Any assistance helpful.
Insurance Online
Type
 
 
By submitting your information you claim you have read and understood and agree to Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, Responsible Lending and Marketing Practices See offers
Other Reviews